Thursday, Friday, Saturday & Sunday Are Busy Days For A Queen To Be!

A young Princess Victoria of Kent writes more day to day information in her journal.

Thursday, 17th January 1833

I awoke at 7 and got up at ½ past 8. At 10 Lehzen and I breakfasted. The Dean did not come. At ½ past 1 we lunched. At 3 came Mr.Steward till 4. At a ¼ past 5 we dined. Sir John dined here. At ½ past 6 Mamma went to the play with Sir John and Lady Conroy. I and Lehzen took tea at ½ past 7. Poor little Daysh who was with us whined terribly for Mamma. I stayed up till a ¼ to 9. I was soon in bed and asleep.

Friday, 18th January 1833

I awoke at 7 and got up at 8. At 10 minutes to 9 we breakfasted. At ½ past 9 came the Dean till ½ past 11. At ½ past 1 we lunched. At 3 came Mr.Barez till 4. At 4 came Mons.Grandineau till 5. At ½ past 6 we dined. At a ¼ to 8 came Mad.Dulcken. At 8 came Aunt Sophia. I stayed up till 9. I was soon in bed and asleep.

Saturday, 19th January 1833.

I awoke at 7 and got up at 8. At 9 we breakfasted. At ½ past 9 came the Dean till 10 minutes past 11. Das war eine sehr gute Stunde. At ½ past 1 we lunched. At ½ past 2 came Mr.Westall till . past 3. At 4 came Mr. Sale till 5. At a ¼ to 7 we dined. After dinner I played with little Dash at ball, he bounded on all four to run after it. bringing it back at full gallop, and screamed to get it while I held it in my hand. I stayed up till ½ past 8. I was soon in bed and asleep.

Sunday, 20th January.

I awoke at 7 and got up at 8. At 9 we breakfasted. At 10 we went to prayers which were in the dining-room. Victoire came also. They performed the service as usual and gave us likewise a very good sermon. It was taken from the 4 first verses of the 18th chapter of St. Matthew. At ½ past 1 we lunched. Victoire could not come today. At a ¼ to 7 we dined. At 8 came Aunt Sophia. I stayed up till ½ past 8. I was soon in bed and asleep.

Leave a Reply

